6 Cell Organelles

Nucleus: Known as the cell’s “command center,” the nucleus is a large organelle that stores the cell’s DNA.

Ribosomes: Ribosomes are the protein factories of the cell. Composed of two subunits.

Endoplasmic reticulum: The endoplasmic reticulum (ER) is a membranous organelle that shares part of its membrane with that of the nucleus.

Golgi apparatus: If the proteins from the rough ER require further modification, they are transported to the Golgi apparatus.

Chloroplasts: In plants and some algae, organelles known as chloroplasts serve as the site of photosynthesis.

Mitochondria: The “powerhouses” of the cell, mitochondria are oval-shaped organelles found in most eukaryotic cells.

Click Here