Country where same-sex marriage is legal

Slovenia -
As of October 4, 2022, Slovenia became the first Eastern European country to legalize same-sex marriage following a parliamentary vote. 

Chile -
The legalization of same-sex marriage was proposed in Chile back in 2017, and on December 7, 2021, the bill finally passed.

Switzerland -
Switzerland joined the list after 64.1% of the country voted to allow same-sex couples to marry in a nationwide referendum on September 26, 2021. 

Costa Rica -
On May 26, 2020, Costa Rica became the first country in Central America to recognize and perform same-sex marriages.

Northern Ireland - On October 22, 2019, Northern Ireland joined the rest of the United Kingdom in legalizing same-sex marriage.

Ecuador -
Following a high court ruling, same-sex marriage is legal across Ecuador as of June 12, 2019.

Taiwan - Taiwan became the first Asian country to permit same-sex marriage following a parliamentary vote on May 17, 2019.

Austria - Following a high court ruling that was not opposed by parliament, same-sex marriage became legal in Austria on January 1, 2019.

Germany - In June 2017, parliament voted 393-226 in favor of legalizing same-sex marriage. By the following October, same-sex marriage was legal in the country.

Malta - The country's parliament voted, almost unanimously, to legalize same-sex marriage in July 2017. The decision went into effect the following September.

Finland - While a bill legalizing same-sex marriage in the country was passed in late 2014, it only went into effect on March 1, 2017.

Colombia - In April 2016, Colombia's Constitutional Court voted 6-3 in favor of allowing same-sex marriage.

Greenland -
As an autonomous territory of Denmark, Greenland was not subject to the former's 2012 decision to legalize same-sex marriage. 

USA - In June 2015, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled in a 5-4 decision to legalize same-sex marriage across the country.

Ireland - Ireland was the first country to legalize same-sex marriage through popular referendum, this in May 2015.

Scotland - Same-sex couples have been allowed to wed in Scotland since December 2014, following a February 2014 parliamentary vote.

New Zealand -
Following parliamentary approval in April 2013, New Zealand became the first country in the Asia-Pacific region to legalize same-sex marriage. 

Brazil - Brazil’s National Council of Justice ruled in favor of same-sex marriage in May 2013.

Click Here